Chicken & Veggie Lasagna

I might be on a bit of a chicken mince band wagon at the moment… but once you find a good thing, you have to stick to it.

So after an amazing success story with my Lemon Zucchini Chicken Meatballs, I thought that I should find another use for chicken mince.

So I started to think – what does one make with beef mince? Shepherds Pie. Spaghetti Bolognese. Lasagna!

Lasagna. Lets attempt that!

I’ve never made a lasagna before – maybe its because I’ve lived at camp for so long and always had lasagna available to me – who knows, but I thought that I would attempt this! And personally, I liked this Chicken & Veggie Lasagna better than any beef version I have ever had.

With some thought and seeing what was available in the fridge, this is my lasagna creation!

Also – on a side note… I had difficulty deciding how lasagna is spelt… is it with an ‘a’ or ‘e’ at the end. With some quick internet searching, I discovered both are correct – so you can let me know if you prefer lasagna or lasagne.

Chicken Lasagna

500g Chicken Mince
1 Carrot
1 Zucchini
1 Sweet Potato
4 Tomatoes
140g Tomato Paste
2 cloves Garlic
1 tablespoon Italian Herbs
1 teaspoon Oregano
1 teaspoon Rosemary
Salt & Pepper
200g Mozzarella Cheese
100g Parmesan Cheese
8-10 Lasagna Sheets

Grate carrot, zucchini and sweet potato with small grater. Finely dice garlic. Heat 1 tablespoon of oil and sauté garlic. Add grated vegetables and fry for 2 minutes. Add chicken mince. Fry until chicken is cooked. Dice tomatoes. Add tomatoes and tomato paste to chicken mixture. Add herbs and spices and mix well.

In a lightly greased oven proof dish, place a thin layer of the chicken mixture. Layer pasta, then chicken mixture, then sprinkle cheese. Repeat. Add one more layer of pasta and then cover with grated cheese. This will make a crunchy top layer.

Bake in preheated oven at 180°C / 350°F for 45-50 minutes.

wlno.jpg

Leave a Reply

