A Story Is Told…

I have come to believe that food and story telling go hand in hand.

How often do you find yourself out for dinner with friends? Catching up over a steaming hot cup of coffee (or in my case, hot chocolate)? Sitting at the park, at the beach, in the backyard or on the deck, with a sandwich in hand and a loved one close by? Or gathered around the table with family or friends… sharing in food… sharing your stories?

My guess is that happens on a daily basis.

Food and stories go hand in hand. 

Looking back on some key moments that have happened in my life – not one of them didn’t involve food in some form. From weddings to birthdays, anniversaries to funerals, graduations to promotions, not one has been celebrated without food. And all of these have stories.

I could tell you about the time that I was in Thailand and we were on Ko Phi Phi Island during the World Cup… late nights hanging out watching the fire dancers or big screens playing soccer games, at beach parties… and hamburgers, always hamburgers! Or when we went to Cambodia and saw the temples near Siem Reap and at the end of each day, we would go to at least three restaurants – one for drinks, one for mains and one for desserts – just to soak up as much of the culture as we could. I could go on…

This is why I want you to know a story behind every recipe I share. I want you to know the essence behind the recipe, the reason why it is a favourite or a new discovery to share. This is why I want to share life as we know it without onions and the amusement that comes with it.

Food. The invitation for stories to be created.

Not only do food and stories go hand in hand… friendship, food and stories go hand in hand.

Leave a Reply

